• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1 other follower

  • Archives

Teen crushes and what that has to do with my love for cooking…

I love cooking.  My earliest memories were helping my mom make Oatmeal Chocolate Chip cookies when I was 4.  For some reason, a seed was planted then that grew into a freakin’ tree.  I think I was the only 11 year old that asked for the “Galloping Gourmet” cookbook for my birthday.  At 10 I made Roast Beef, mashed potatoes, and peas for my dad (all from scratch).  At 13, I made my first Indian curry thanks to my humungous teenage crush on Sajid Khan from “Maya” – I knew we were going to get married – Just like Tina and Ryan Seacrest!   It was destiny, kismet, fate, karma…if only there was SOME WAY my letters could reach him, he would FEEL IT TOO. 

The recipe was for curry using ground meat and was published in “16” magazine as part of an article about what Saj would make you for dinner, should you come over for a ‘dream date’. *swoon* LOL  I still have the recipe!!! I hate to tell you how many years later it is (I know how many, but like I said…I hate to tell!)  Here it is in all its glory – if you look closely at the top, you can see the tweenage handwriting with the ❤ at the end of “Saj’s Indian Curry” LOL

My obsession with Indian food lasted for years.  In fact, I still love to cook it.  What fascinates me is how the spices can make the dish SO hot, yet still flavorful.  It really is an explosion of the senses – sensual, exotic, spicy, harsh, sweet, pungent all rolled up into one dish.  Wow.   Don’t let the ingredient list intimidate you – it’s really mostly spices.  The secret to a good curry is simmering it for hours.  Oh…and naan (a type of Indian bread) plenty of naan…

3 Responses

  1. this is so adorable! he’s better than ryan, i never got a recipe from him! 😛
    ps- make sure you read my tomorrows blog ( something with food MAY be involved)!!!!!

  2. What I need to figure out, is how to make the comments visible. It’s annoying me to no end – none of the themes that I like have that option – any ideas?

  3. no one can see your comments? i’m confused. i can be pretty computer savvy so if you explain i may know.

Leave a Reply

